football Edit

TU players make Preseason All-Conference USA

Tulsa senior football players Willie Carter and Dexter McCoil were both named to the Conference USA preseason all-conference team as selected by the league's coaches. Both were second-team all-conference selections last year after helping the Golden Hurricane post an 8-5 record and make the school's seventh bowl game in the last nine years.
Despite missing two games with injuries, Carter had a team-leading 868 receiving yards for a 14.2 average, 62 rushing yards and a combined nine TDs -- seven receiving and two rushing. He had a career-best 173 yards and one touchdown on 13 receptions against SMU, while going over 100 yards in two more games. In his career, Carter has 1,184 receiving yards and 12 touchdowns, and 389 rushing yards with five TDs.
A three-year starter at safety, McCoil enters the 2012 season tied for the school's all-time lead for interceptions with 13. He has had six pick-offs in each of the last two seasons. McCoil totaled 84 tackles, seven pass break-ups and ranked ninth nationally with 6 interceptions for 131 yards a year ago. In his career, McCoil has compiled 225 career tackles, 16 pass break-ups and 13 interceptions.
This preseason, McCoil has been named to the 2012 preseason Watch Lists for the Bronko Nagurski Trophy as the nation's top defensive player and the Jim Thorpe Award as the nation's top defensive back.
Last year, McCoil finished the season with 10 tackles, two interceptions for 37 yards and one pass breakup against BYU, while being named the Tulsa's MVP of the Bell Helicopter Armed Forces Bowl.
First Team Offense
QB Nick Lamaison, Sr., UTEP
RB Charles Sims, Jr., Houston
RB Zach Line, Sr., SMU
OL Jordan Devey, Sr., Memphis
OL Joe Duhon, Sr., Southern Miss
OL Kevin Forsch, Jr., Houston
OL Theo Goins, Sr., UCF
OL Chris Hubbard, Sr., UAB
OL Will Simmons, Jr., East Carolina
WR Willie Carter, Jr., Tulsa
WR Aaron Dobson, Sr., Marshall
WR Darius Johnson, Sr., SMU
TE Luke Willson, Sr., Rice
First Team Defense
DL Michael Brooks, Sr., East Carolina
DL Jamie Collins, Sr., Southern Miss
DL Victor Gray, Jr., UCF
DL Margus Hunt, Sr., SMU
LB Jeremy Grove, So., East Carolina
LB Trent Mackey, Sr., Tulane
LB Taylor Reed, Sr., SMU
DB Bryce Callahan, So., Rice
DB D.J. Hayden, Sr., Houston
DB Kemal Ishmael, Sr., UCF
DB Dexter McCoil, Sr., Tulsa
First Team Special Teams
K Chris Boswell, Jr., Rice
P Ian Campbell, Sr., UTEP
KR Rannell Hall, So., UCF
PR Tracey Lampley, Sr., Southern Miss
Offensive Player of the Year - Zach Line, Sr., RB, SMU
Defensive Player of the Year - Trent Mackey, Sr., LB, Tulane
Special Teams Player of the Year - Tracey Lampley, Sr., KR/PR, Southern Miss